Competency Standards

A Competency Standard is a technical specification or code of practice to measure performance or to determine/control levels of quality. It is an industry-determined specification of performance which sets out the skills, knowledge and attitudes required to operate effectively in employment.

 A competency standard is made up of elements of competency together with performance criteria, a range of variables and evidence guide. Competency standards are an accredited part of the technical and vocational education and training (TVET) system and are the smallest unit of measure in a competency-based training and certification system.

Competency Standards can either be a Regional Occupational Standard (ROS) which is a standard that has been regionally approved by CARICOM or a National Occupational Standard (NOS) which is a standard developed by a national training agency to meet the competency requirements a local job in a particular territory or country.

The concept of competency embodies the following:

The Standards Development Process

The NTA’s Standards and Planning Officer provides leadership in the development of competency standards. Industry Lead Bodies comprising representatives of employers, sector associations, training providers and industry experts play a key role in the development and validation of these standards.

List of Competency Standards

Click the button below to find a list of Competency Standards. These Competency Standards are grouped into Sectoral categories.

Downloadable versions of these Competency Standards can be found on the ‘Downloads’ page. Note well, only approved Competency Standards will be available for download.


Give us some feedback

We would love to hear from you on how we can improve our website

Skip to content