Belmont Rd, St. George, Grenada W.I. For Information Call +1 473 435-9092 / 9093

GNTA ι About Us ι FAQs (Frequently Asked Questions)

FAQs (Frequently Asked Questions)

What is the National Training Agency?

  • The National Training Agency is the national coordinating agency for technical and vocational education and training in Grenada

What is the OECS (Grenada) Skills for Inclusive Growth Project (SIGP)?

  • It is a project of the Government of Grenada designed to increase the employability and mobility of unemployed youths through skills training that is demand-driven. This project ended in September 2013 having enrolled more than 1000 unemployed youth with over 800 receiving CVQ and NVQ certification at levels 1 and 2.

What were the components involved in the training under the SIGP?

  • The OECS (Grenada) Skills for Inclusive Growth Project has three components: Life
    Skills (60 hours), Technical Skills (varied based on Level of training), and Traineeship (3 - 4 months)

What were the application requirements for youths interested in the programme?

  • Potential applicants were required to be unemployed; be between the ages of 18 and 30; have had a maximum of six months work experience or internship in the sector of training; have had three CXC passes or less; be functionally literate and committed to training.

What qualifications did learners receive at the end of the training programme?

  • Successful trainees received either a National Vocational Qualification of a Caribbean Vocational Qualification at Level 1 or 2.

What is a National Vocational Qualification(NVQ)?

  • This is an occupational/work-based award that is achieved nationally through assessment and training. NVQs are based on national standards of competence drawn up by representatives from each industry sector, and against which assessments are done. To achieve an NVQ candidates must prove that they have the ability (competence) to carry out their job to the required standard which describes the competencies expected in any given job role. Typically, candidates will work towards an NVQ that reflects their role in a paid or voluntary position. NVQs are available in five levels and are accredited by the National Training Agency.

What is a Caribbean Vocational Qualification(CVQ)?

  • This is an award that represents the achievement of a set of competencies which define core work practices of an occupational area, consistent with the levels articulated within the regional qualification framework. To earn an award, candidates must demonstrate competence in reaching CARICOM-approved occupational standards developed by industry experts.

Where is the CVQ recognized?

  • The CVQ is recognized within all CARICOM countries?

What are the levels of competence in the CVQ framework?

  • Level 1 - Apprentice/supervised semi-skilled worker
    Level 2 - Skilled worker
    Level 3 - Skilled technical able to work independently and to provide supervision to others on a worksite.
    Level 4 - Professional/managerial/ master craftsman
    Level 5 - Chartered professional/ managerial

How is a learner assessed for a NVQ/CVQ?

  • Candidates are entered for assessments in specific skill areas. When a candidate is ready, the assessor assesses his/her competence. Successful completion of a unit will be recorded and recognized on an official transcript. The candidate will gain a full NVQ/CVQ Award when all the units specified in the qualification structure have been accumulated. Based on the evidence provided by the training provider and the external verifier, the candidate will be awarded a NVQ/CVQ certificate. Assessments are comprised mainly of the following methods:

    Observation of performance
    Examination of products
    Oral questioning
    Written testing
    Appraisal of a portfolio

What are the benefits of the NVQ/CVQ?

  • The NVQ/CVQ together with traditional academic qualifications create alternative pathways to acquiring further education
    Will complement the academic track
    Recognized and portable qualification in CARICOM and the world
    The NVQ/CVQ ensures that you can perform in the workplace
    Your past work experience and skills can count towards the NVQ/CVQ

Who awards the NVQ/CVQ?

  • The National Training Agency of Grenada is the certifying body for the NVQ/CVQ in Grenada. National Training Agencies (NTAs) in Trinidad, Jamaica Barbados and Saint Lucia can also award the CVQ. The Caribbean Examinations Council(CXC) awards the CVQ to persons in secondary schools up to Level 2.

What is Competency-Based Education and Training (CBET)?

  • This is a system of education and training that is designed to ensure that upon leaving the education and training system learners possess the requisite competencies or outcomes (knowledge, skills and attitude) that meet the needs and interests of the workplace.

Why do we need CBET?

  • To create a highly skilled workforce in a period of increased competitiveness
    · To meet the needs of industry and the workforce which are demanding greater
    Productivity and improved customer satisfaction
    · To create a workforce that can keep up with technological advances
    · To facilitate the Caribbean Single Market and Economy (CSME) and the free
    movement of workers

What is a Competency/Occupational standard?

  • A technical specification or code of practice to measure performance or to determine levels of quality. It is an industry-determined specification of performance which sets out the skills, knowledge and attitudes required to operate effectively in employment. A competency or occupational standard specifies what a person should know and do in order to carry out the functions of a particular job in the context of the work environment. Standards are the agreed minimum best practice in an Occupational Area and take into account all necessary statutory requirements.